The Blueprint

Publications earn top awards in state competition

Back to Article
Back to Article

Publications earn top awards in state competition

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

State championships aren’t just on the athletic fields. The student newsmagazine, Trojan Matters, recently earned the top student newsmagazine/newspaper in the state for schools with enrollment 1000 or fewer.  The Citadel yearbook was named in the top four as a finalist in all small schools.

For the last 10 years, The Citadel yearbook and/or the Trojan Matters newsmagazine (and the Trojan Tribune newspaper before that) has been either in the top spot or in the top four. Mrs. Tracy Luke, publications adviser, is proud of her students. “Ultimately, our student body and BCHS community is who we work so hard for, but it’s nice to see professional journalists commend our work,” she said.

Each year, editors and photographers help Mrs. Luke select entries in many different categories in yearbook, newspaper, photography and online presence.  At their annual convention last week, the director of the Indiana High School Press Association announces the category awards.  The Hoosier Star, the journalism state champion, is also announced. Awards are based on the previous year’s work.

Awards include:

Hoosier Star – best in state in small school category – Trojan Matters

Hoosier Star finalist – top 4 in state in small school category – The Citadel

Online presence – The BluePrint – 1st place

Social Media presence – Instagram, SnapChat, Twitter – 1st place

Page Design/photography – magazine- Janie Gleaves/Nathan Horlander – 1st place

Newswriting – magazine – Katie Meek – 1st place

Editorial writing – magazine – Katie Meek – 2nd place

Sports writing – magazine – Michael Mates – 1st place

Infographic design – magazine – Kacee Haslett – 1st place

Academic spreads – Abby Teed, Bridget Benson – 2nd place

Graphic design – yearbook –  Katie Nickerson, Abby Stehlik – 2nd place

Spot News photo – yearbook – Elena Redmond – 1st place

Sports photo – yearbook – Leah Engler – 2nd place

Feature photo – yearbook – Casie Maexner – 2nd place