Exploring the NCAA Tournament

Back to Article
Back to Article

Exploring the NCAA Tournament

Michael Mates, Sports Editor

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

For many sports fans, March is one of the best times of the year because of the nonstop thrilling action of the NCAA basketball tournament. The tournament has 68 teams and is played over a three week span. The champion has to win 7 games if they are in the First Four or 6 games if they have a bye into the second round. Sophomore Owen Cuniffe said, “I think Houston will win although many people think Duke is the favorite.”

The games start tonight at 6:40 on TruTv with Prairie View taking on Fairleigh Dickinson. The Final Four will be held in Minneapolis, Minnesota. 



The following are fun facts about the NCAA tournament:

  • This year marks the 80th time the NCAA has held the tournament.
  • Kansas City, Missouri has hosted the most Final Fours to date with 10 since 1953. Indianapolis can overtake that mark in 2035. It is now an official NCAA rule that the Final Four take place in Indianapolis (NCAA HQ) every five years. The city has hosted six times already.
  • Alaska, Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, South Dakota, Vermont, and Wyoming have never held a tournament game.
  • The Connecticut Huskies are the only school to win his-and-her national championships in the same year. The women’s team won theirs one day after the men in 2004 and again in 2014.
  • AT&T Stadium, home of the 2014 Final Four, with a capacity of 80,000, is the largest stadium to ever host a Final Four.
  • $900 million is made by the NCAA, which is about 90% of the money they bring in.
  • Those that fill out brackets have a 1 in 9.2 quintillion chance to fill out a bracket
  • $1.9 billion per hour is lost by corporations because of inefficiency at work.
  • No 9-16 seed has ever won the tournament. Villanova is the lowest seed to ever win with an 8 seed in 1985.
  • Since 1986, the winning school has received the court they won on.
  • UCLA has the most titles with 11. Legendary coach, John Wooden, is to credit for most of these wins.
  • No five seed has won the tournament and are commonly picked to be upset in the first round.
  • Announcer Brent Musburger coined the phrase “March Madness” in 1982.
  • Notre Dame guard Austin Carr holds the tournament record for the most points in a single game, 61, against Ohio.

All facts from CBS sports, Fox sports, and Wallethub